Sponsored By
An organization or individual has paid for the creation of this work but did not approve or review it.



High school teams from Minnesota, Massachusetts and Illinois win national titles

PREP Hockey (Ill.), the Springfield Jr. Thunderbirds (Mass), and Shattuck-St. Mary's (Minn.) all won titles at the USA Hockey High School National Championships

A hockey player wearing a black, white, and yellow jersey lifts up a gold plate in front of the crowd.
Jakeb Horcher lifts the USA High School Div. II National trophy at the Plymouth Ice Center on March 27, 2023. PREP Hockey defeated the Des Moines Oak Leafs in the title match.
Sydney Wolf / The Rink Live

PLYMOUTH, Minn. — It was busy last weekend in Plymouth and Minneapolis as teams from all across the country were vying for the top prize at the Chipotle-USA Hockey High School National Championships.

In the Prep Division, Shattuck-St. Mary's defeated New Trier Green in the title match, 10-0. Goaltender Riley Burnett (Mankato, Minn.) posted an 18-save shutout.

An entire team wearing white, maroon, and black jerseys poses with a national title banner while holding up the number one.
Shattuck-St. Mary's 18U AAA poses with their banner after defeating New Trier Green, 10-0, at the USA Hockey HS National Championships in Plymouth, Minnesota on March 27, 2023.
Sydney Wolf / The Rink Live

Burnett was named to the Prep All-Tournament Team alongside teammates Alex Dell (Chelyabinsk, Russia), Jackson Potulny (Maple Grove, Minn.), and Svante Strandberg (Uppsala, Sweden). New Trier Green's Landon Douthit and American Hockey Academy's Eric Sweetapple (Burlington, Nova Scotia) also earned All-Tournament Team honors.

Shattuck-St. Mary's also won the Girls High School Division with a tight 2-0 win over Anchorage (Alaska). The score was just 1-0 until late in the third period when the Sabres scored an empty-net goal.

Three girls pose with each other after the game while wearing their medals and holding up the number one.
Players from Shattuck-St. Mary's pose with each other after winning the Girls HS National Championship on March 27, 2023 at the Plymouth Ice Center in Minnesota.
Sydney Wolf / The Rink Live

Minnesota Duluth commit Payton Holloway (Tomah, Wis.) was named to the Girls All-Tournament Team alongside teammate Rowyn Ringor (Winnipeg). Other competitors honored on the All-Tournament Team includes forward Josselyn Drayson of Dallas Stars Elite, defender Tori Schmidt (Premier Prep Pink / Fond du Lac, Wis.) and teammates Kara Rahm and goaltender Zoie Campbell of Anchorage.


In High School Division I, the Springfield Jr. Thunderbirds (Mass.) took home the national title with a 5-1 victory over the Brookings Rangers (S.D.).

A whole hockey team poses with a banner while holding up number ones in their hands.
The Springfield Jr. Thunderbirds pose for a photo after winning the Division I national title on March 27, 2023 in Plymouth, Minnesota.
Sydney Wolf / The Rink Live

CJ Watroba, Matt Bolduc, and netminder Vincent Maggi all made the All-Tournament Team for Springfield, along with Alex Young (Rancho Cucamonga, Calif. / Damien High), Breck Hirschoff (Brookings, S.D.), and Kelton Chadwick (Phoenix / Desert Vista High).

And last but not least, PREP Hockey (Ill.) won the Division II title in a 6-3 win over the Des Moines Oak Leafs.

The DII All-Tournament Team was comprised of Alex Young (East Islip, N.Y.), Ryan Baert (London, Ontario / Florida Alliance), Ryan Sagniaw (Bishop Canevin), Nicholas Albrecht (PREP), Jackson Krier (Des Moines), and goaltender Jaden Salado (Fremont, Neb. / Omaha Jr. Lancers).

Up next in Minnesota for USA Hockey is the Youth Tier II 18U national championships happening in Maple Grove from March 30 to April 3.

Sydney Wolf is a reporter for The Rink Live, primarily covering youth and high school hockey. She joined the team in November of 2021 and graduated from St. Cloud State University with a degree in Mass Communications and a minor in Writing and Rhetoric Studies.
What to read next
We talked to a bunch of players at the 2023 Lamoureux Hockey Cup and asked them some fun questions to help pass the time.
The top 120 girls and boys hockey players in the state of Minnesota have been selected to attend the CCM High Performance Summer Development Camp.
A suspect has been charged after Roseville Area youth hockey coach Michael Brasel was shot and killed outside his home in an attempt to thwart a car theft.
Five different teams were awarded the Lamoureux Hockey Cup in divisions from 10U up to 14U this past weekend at the Cullen Hockey Center in Moorhead
Get Local