Sponsored By
An organization or individual has paid for the creation of this work but did not approve or review it.



Gophers' Heise tops Bulldogs' Hughes and Buckeyes' Jaques for 2022 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award

Minnesota Duluth's Gabbie Hughes and Ohio State's Sophie Jaques would have been the first winners from their school. Taylor Heise is the third from Minnesota to win the award.

Minnesota forward Taylor Heise, a Lake City native who starred at Red Wing High School, is the 2022 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award winner. (File photo courtesy of Jim Rosvold / University of Minnesota Athletics)
Jim Rosvold / University of Minnesota Athletics

DULUTH — Minnesota senior forward Taylor Heise was named the 2022 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award winner on Saturday morning, beating out fellow WCHA rivals, All-Americans and top-three finalists Gabbie Hughes, the Minnesota Duluth senior center, and Ohio State senior defenseman Sophie Jaques.

Heise, of Lake City, Minnesota, is the third Gopher to win the award in 25 years. She led the nation in scoring with 29 goals and 37 assists for 66 points. She helped lead the Gophers to a WCHA regular season championship and was named the WCHA Player of the Year and Offensive Player of the Year.

Hughes and Jaques were attempting to become the first Patty Kaz winners for their school. Jaques was the first Buckeye to land in the top three while Hughes is the seventh Bulldog to make the top three but get passed over.

No school has had more top three finalists without winning the award than UMD.

Hughes posted 22 goals and 37 assists for 59 points as the Bulldogs came within a win of a national championship. Her 1.48 points per game average put the Lino Lakes, Minnesota, native eighth in the country in scoring. She is also a finalist for the all-division, all-gender Hockey Humanitarian Award — which is awarded to college hockey’s “finest citizen” — for her advocacy for mental health issues impacting college, high school and youth athletes, working with UMD’s Green Bandana Project and helping found Sophie’s Squad.


Hughes is one of three women’s hockey players to ever be named a top-three finalist for the Patty Kaz and to be among the finalists for the Hockey Humanitarian Award.

Jaques, of Toronto, helped lead the Buckeyes to their first NCAA championship via a 3-2 victory over the Bulldogs at the 2022 Frozen Four in University Park, Pennsylvania. She also helped lead Ohio State to a WCHA postseason title.

Jaques’ 1.55 points per game ranked third in the nation in scoring as she totaled 21 goals and 38 assists for 59 points. She was named the WCHA Outstanding Student-Athlete of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year.

Jaques was attempting to become the second defenseman to ever win the Patty Kaz. Harvard’s Angela Ruggiero is the one and only defenseman to win it, in 2003-04.

Co-host of the Bulldog Insider Podcast and college hockey reporter for the Duluth News Tribune and The Rink Live covering the Minnesota Duluth men's and women's hockey programs.
What to read next
CC Bowlby helped the Hornets win three Class AA state titles. She led Dartmouth in scoring as a senior and had other offers, but chose to try to help the Huskies take another step.
Luke Loheit will captain Minnesota Duluth as a fifth-year senior, and he'll be joined by alternate captains Quinn Olson and Dominic James
The Hermantown and Hibbing natives each have a pair of assists as the United States looks to finish group play undefeated.
The former Ms. Hockey winner has been a defensive mainstay for the past four years, and is on track to attend medical school when she is done playing in March 2024.
Get Local