Sponsored By
An organization or individual has paid for the creation of this work but did not approve or review it.



Eight WCHA skaters named to National Rookie of the Year Watch List

Eight players from the WCHA have been named to the prestigious list, including three Minnesota natives

Women's college hockey teams play game in arena
Minnesota Duluth forward Taylor Anderson (5) passes the puck against Minnesota State forward Taylor Otremba (24) at Amsoil Arena on Saturday, Oct. 8, 2022, in Duluth.
Clint Austin / Duluth News Tribune

Eight players from the WCHA have been named to the National Rookie of the Year Watch List, including three Minnesota natives.

Twenty-eight players were chosen to the list, and the WCHA's eight skaters leads all of the other conferences in women's Division I hockey.

Minnesota and Wisconsin each have three skaters on the list, while the other two come from Minnesota State and Ohio State.

Golden Gophers on the list include Madison Kaiser (Andover, Minn. / Holy Family), Nelli Laitinen (Lohja, Finland / Kiekko-Espoo), and Josefin Bouveng (Uppsala, Sweden / Brynas IF).

Wisconsin's three skaters on the Watch List are Laila Edwards (Cleveland Heights, Ohio / Bishop Kearney Selects), Caroline Harvey (Pelham, N.H. / Team USA), and Kirsten Simms (Plymouth, Mich. / Little Caesars).


Ohio State's Emma Peschel (Edina, Minn. / Benilde-St. Margaret's) and Minnesota State's Taylor Otremba (Lakeville, Minn. / Lakeville South) round out the list of WCHA honorees.

The Hockey Commissioners Association selected the 28-player list. Assistant coaches across the country will vote for a National Rookie of the Year which will be announced during the 2023 Women's Frozen Four in Duluth.

Of the WCHA nominee's, Harvey has the most points with 30 in 28 games played. Only two other players on the Watch List have more than Harvey's 30 points (Mercyhurst's Thea Johansson , 31, and Stonehill's Alexis Petford , 33).

Below is the list of all of the Watch List nominee's and their current goals, assists, and point totals.

Sydney Wolf is a reporter for The Rink Live, primarily covering youth and high school hockey. She joined the team in November of 2021 and graduated from St. Cloud State University with a degree in Mass Communications and a minor in Writing and Rhetoric Studies.
What to read next
The "Bulldog Insiders" from the News Tribune, My 9 Sports and KDAL answer your questions about 2022-23, and look ahead to the 2023-24 in Part II of the season finale.
The "Bulldog Insiders" from the News Tribune, My 9 Sports and KDAL take a look back at the 2022-23 UMD men's and women's hockey seasons in Part I of a two-part season finale.
Ohio State fifth-year senior defenseman Sophie Jaques became the first Buckeye and second defenseman to ever win the Patty Kazmaier Award in its 26 years.
Orono's Lizi Norton is playing in her third-straight Frozen Four this week at Amsoil Arena in Duluth after helping host UMD reach back-to-back Frozen Fours in 2021 and 2022.
Get Local