Sponsored By
An organization or individual has paid for the creation of this work but did not approve or review it.



UMD hockey: Bulldogs Soderberg, Fanti named semifinalists for national goaltender of the year

UMD women's senior Emma Soderberg is one of 12 semifinalists for the Women's Hockey Goalie of the Year Award while UMD men's junior Ryan Fanti is among the 11 semifinalists for the Richter Award, given to the top goalie in men's hockey.

Minnesota Duluth Bemidji State Women's Hockey
Minnesota Duluth goaltender Emma Soderberg (30) uses the tip of her stick to deflect a shot on goal against Bemidji State on Saturday, Jan. 15, 2022, at Amsoil Arena in Duluth.
Clint Austin / Duluth News Tribune

DULUTH — Minnesota Duluth goaltenders Emma Soderberg and Ryan Fanti were both named semifinalists for national goaltender of the year on Tuesday.

Soderberg, a Bulldogs senior who just returned from the Olympics with Sweden, is one of 12 semifinalists for the Women’s Hockey Goalie of the Year Award . With the Bulldogs, Soderberg has posted a .918 save percentage (36) and 2.22 goals against average in 21 starts with four shutouts.

At the 2022 Olympic in Beijing, Soderberg started all five games for Sweden. She posted a .951 save percentage and 1.77 GAA in the preliminary round before running into Canada in the quarterfinals to finish with a .913 save percentage and 3.47 GAA.

Other notable semifinalists for the title of top goaltender in NCAA Division I women’s hockey include Wisconsin fifth-year senior Kennedy Blair — the only other semifinalist from the WCHA — and Northeastern fifth-year senior Aerin Frankel, who won the award in 2021.

UMD Men's hockey faces Omaha at Baxter Arena
Minnesota Duluth goaltender Ryan Fanti (39) guards the net against Omaha forward Matt Miller (27) on Friday, Jan. 21, 2022, at Baxter Arena in Omaha, Nebraska.
Clint Austin / Duluth News Tribune

Fanti, a junior for the Bulldogs, is one of 11 semifinalists for the Richter Award — which is given to the top goaltender in NCAA Division I men’s hockey — and the only semifinalist from the NCHC. A native of Thunder Bay, Ontario, Fanti has recorded a .919 save percentage and a 2.00 goals against average in 26 starts with four shutouts.


Other notable players semifinalists for the Richter Award include Minnesota State senior Dryden McKay, Northeastern sophomore Devon Levi and Quinnipiac sophomore Yanic Perets. All three rank in the top three nationally in save percentage, goals against average and shutouts .

The three finalists for both awards will be announced in March while the winners will be announced during the NCAA Frozen Fours. The women’s Frozen Four is scheduled for March 18-20 at Penn State University in University Park, Pennsylvania, while the men’s Frozen Four is slated for April 7-9 in Boston.

Co-host of the Bulldog Insider Podcast and college hockey reporter for the Duluth News Tribune and The Rink Live covering the Minnesota Duluth men's and women's hockey programs.
What to read next
Schmitt has been an officiating supervisor for the conference since 2013
The defenseman is a free agent this summer after an AHL All-Star season for Providence. Ahcan talks about his close relationships in hockey, his development and more on the Huskies Hockey Insider podcast
CC Bowlby helped the Hornets win three Class AA state titles. She led Dartmouth in scoring as a senior and had other offers, but chose to try to help the Huskies take another step.
🔊 Former Moorhead Spud Will Borgen is back in his hometown after helping the Kraken win the franchise's first playoff series. He also shares his SCSU memories.
Get Local