Sponsored By
An organization or individual has paid for the creation of this work but did not approve or review it.



SCSU's Klara Hymlarova, Jenniina Nylund score 1st Olympic goals

In this first Olympic Hockey Update, Rachel Herzog recaps how Hymlarova (Czech Republic), Nylund (Finland) fared in the opening week in Beijing. The schedule for watching men's, women's hockey games with SCSU athletes and a look at WCHA players participating in women's tournament also included

Ice Hockey - Women's Prelim. Round - Group B - Czech Republic v Sweden
Klara Hymlarova of Czech Republic celebrates scoring a goal against Sweden with teammates in women's hockey Group B play in the Beijing Olympics on Feb. 5, 2022, at National Indoor Stadium in Beijing, China. Hymlarova is a junior forward at St. Cloud State.
Annegret Hilsers / Pool via Reuters<br/>

Two forwards from the St. Cloud State women's hockey team have played their first four games in the Winter Olympics in Beijing.

Klara Hymlarova, a junior from Opava, Czech Republic, scored her first Olympic goal for Czechia. She has two goals and three assists in 12 games for the Huskies this season.

Jenniina Nylund, a senior from Pietarsaari, scored her first Olympic goal for Finland. She has seven goals and 15 points in 16 games for the Huskies this season.

Mick Hatten is a reporter and editor for Forum News Service and helps manage TheRinkLive.com, a website dedicated to hockey. He began working for Forum Communications in November 2018 and has covered St. Cloud State University hockey since 2010. A graduate of St. Cloud State, he has more than 30 years of experience as a journalist and has been a youth hockey coach since 2014. mhatten@forumcomm.com

For more coverage of St. Cloud and the surrounding communities, check out St. Cloud Live.
What to read next
The facility would be built roughly two miles from the Western Michigan campus and, as envisioned, would have 6,000 seats for hockey, which would be a notable increase from the Broncos current home.
Adam, a former official, had served in that role since the conference began in 2013
Western Michigan leads the way with 5 players earning honors
Luke Loheit will captain Minnesota Duluth as a fifth-year senior, and he'll be joined by alternate captains Quinn Olson and Dominic James
Get Local