Augustana will be ninth CCHA member, sources say

Conference will officially introduce the institution on Tuesday

CCHA logo

DEEPHAVEN, Minn. — The Central Collegiate Hockey Association announced Monday, May 16 that it plans to expand to nine teams. A formal announcement about the new conference member is scheduled for 2:30 p.m. Tuesday, May 17 via a Zoom press conference.

Sources familiar with the CCHA expansion told The Rink Live that Augustana University in Sioux Falls, S.D., will be the ninth member.

The CCHA currently has eight members of its men's hockey conference: Bemidji State University, Bowling Green State University, Ferris State University, Lake Superior State University, Michigan Technological University, Minnesota State University-Mankato, Northern Michigan University and the University of St. Thomas.

The 2021-22 season was the first season for the CCHA in this configuration. All but St. Thomas were members of the WCHA before last season. St. Thomas joined the conference as it moved up from NCAA Division III to Division I in all of its sports.

In April, Augustana named Garrett Raboin as its head coach and will have its first season in 2023-24.


What to read next
St. Thomas also recently proposed constructing a sports complex on 23 acres of land in the southeast corner of the site west of Cleveland Avenue, some of which is still owned by Canadian Pacific Railway.
Former Greenway/Nashwauk-Keewatin forward spent the last two seasons playing in the NAHL for the Bismarck Bobcats
Because he is out of junior hockey eligibility, he will spend the season working out and helping with preparations for the fledgling Division I program. Defenseman played the last two seasons as a defenseman for the Minnesota Magicians in the NAHL. He is the second player to commit to the Vikings
The matchup will feature two of college hockey's three winningest teams of the last decade.