Sponsored By
An organization or individual has paid for the creation of this work but did not approve or review it.



TRL reporters' question: Who are you picking to win the Frozen Four games?

The Rink Live beat reporters answer the question about the University of Minnesota, Minnesota Duluth, University of North Dakota, Bemidji State, Minnesota State University-Mankato and St. Cloud State.


Our question this week for The Rink Live beat reporters is: Who are you picking to win the Frozen Four games?

Those reporters are Mick Hatten, Jess Myers, Christian Babcock, Shane Frederick, Brad Schlossman, and Matt Wellens. Hatten covers St. Cloud State, Myers covers the University of Minnesota, Babcock covers Bemidji State, Frederick covers Minnesota State University-Mankato, Schlossman covers the University of North Dakota and Wellens covers Minnesota Duluth.

If you have a question for the group, follow us on Twitter and use #asktherinklive.

Mick Hatten (Huskies): I'll take MSU-Mankato over Minnesota because of the experience and depth of the Mavericks. I'll take Denver over Michigan because I think the Pioneers are deeper and won't get rattled in a big game. Then I'll take the Mavericks over Denver in the championship to give Dryden McKay a proper sendoff.

Christian Babcock (Beavers): I'll take Minnesota State and Michigan to advance, with MSU winning it.


Jess Myers (Gophers): The favorites have won nearly every game in the NCAA playoffs so far, so I will stick with what has worked, and say Michigan and Minnesota State Mankato get to Saturday's title game. In that contest, as crazy as it sounds, I'll say a team from Minnesota that wears purple and gold will finally win the big one. Nearly everything else has gone right for southern Minnesota hockey this season, so why not the Mavericks claiming the college crown?

Matt Wellens (Bulldogs): The last five national champions all were part of the NCAA Frozen Four the year before they won their title. North Dakota won in 2016 after losing to Boston University in the semifinals in 2015. Denver won in 2017 after losing to North Dakota in the semifinals in 2016. Minnesota Duluth won in 2018 and 2019 after losing to Denver in the 2017 title game, and Massachusetts won in 2021 after losing in the 2019 final against UMD. I'll take Minnesota State over Denver after the Mavericks lost to St. Cloud State in the 2021 semifinals.

Brad Schlossman (Fighting Hawks): Denver was my preseason pick, so I'm certainly not going to abandon that now. I'll say the Pioneers take home the title. In the other semifinal, Minnesota is playing extremely well in all zones and I'd expect them to get past Minnesota State.

Mick Hatten is a reporter and editor for Forum News Service and helps manage TheRinkLive.com, a website dedicated to hockey. He began working for Forum Communications in November 2018 and has covered St. Cloud State University hockey since 2010. A graduate of St. Cloud State, he has more than 30 years of experience as a journalist and has been a youth hockey coach since 2014. mhatten@forumcomm.com

For more coverage of St. Cloud and the surrounding communities, check out St. Cloud Live.
What to read next
Vegas' vice president of communications and content joins The Rink Live podcast to talk about the team, how hockey has grown in Las Vegas, working with Alex Ovechkin and Bruce Cassidy, his career
Many of the comic antics in a popular hockey movie were based on real-life incidents that happened in the now-defunct World Hockey Association, as recorded in "A Slap Shot In Time," by Dan Whenesota.
Murphy grew up in an Illinois family with two brothers who have played college sports, a mother who played college softball and a dad who was a Marine. She won gold last month with Team USA
Get Local