Sponsored By
An organization or individual has paid for the creation of this work but did not approve or review it.



Roseau's Max Strand wins Minnesota's Mr. Hockey Award

The only other Roseau Ram to win the award is Aaron Ness in 2008.

EGF Roseau hky2.jpg
Green Wave goalie Chase Mero looks back as Roseau's Max Strand skates behind the net after scoring in the second period of a game in East Grand Forks.
Eric Hylden / Grand Forks Herald

ROSEAU, Minn. — Minnesota's prestigious Mr. Hockey Award is returning to Roseau.

Roseau High forward Max Strand became the school's second winner Sunday afternoon, when he was presented the award that goes to the top boys senior hockey player in the state.

Strand finished in the top 10 in the state in scoring this season, piling up 36 goals and 78 points in 27 games for the Rams.

Strand was previously announced as one of 10 finalists along with Warroad's Daimon Gardner.

Mr. Hockey is chosen by a panel of NHL scouts, junior scouts and coaches, and select media members from around the state.


The only other Roseau player to win it was defenseman Aaron Ness in 2008. Ness went on to play in the NHL and the Olympic Games.

"I just want to congratulate all the other finalists for all your great high school careers and high school seasons this year," Strand said. "I'd like to thank my family, my friends, all my teammates, my coaches and everyone else who has helped me along the way. I couldn't have done any of this without you guys. Thank you for that."

Strand also thanked the Roseau community.

"It's really a blessing to grow up in such a great community, surrounded by hockey my whole life," Strand said.

In three years of varsity hockey, Strand racked up 161 points in 73 games.

Strand has been playing with the St. Cloud Norsemen in the North American Hockey League since his high school season ended. He has six points in five games for the Norsemen.

Strand, a draft pick of the Sioux City Musketeers in the United States Hockey League, is not committed to any college yet.

"Strand is a special player," Roseau coach Greg Lund told the Herald this season. "He has a work ethic like you can't believe. He's go, go, go. Our top two lines play a lot, and he's out there a lot and seems like he doesn't get tired."


Mr. Hockey winners in Minnesota

2022 — Max Strand, Roseau
2021 — Jack Peart, Grand Rapids
2020 — Blake Biondi, Hermantown
2019 — Bryce Brodzinski, Blaine
2018 — Sammy Walker, Edina
2017 — Casey Mittelstadt, Eden Prairie
2016 — Riley Tufte, Blaine
2015 — Jake Jaremko, Elk River
2014 — Avery Peterson, Grand Rapids
2013 — Grant Besse, Benilde-St. Margaret's
2012 — Justin Kloos, Lakeville South
2011 — Kyle Rau, Eden Prairie
2010 — Nick Bjugstad, Blaine
2009 — Nick Leddy, Eden Prairie
2008 — Aaron Ness, Roseau
2007 — Ryan McDonagh, Cretin Derham-Hall
2006 — David Fischer, Apple Valley
2005 — Brian Lee, Moorhead
2004 — Tom Gorowsky, Centennial
2003 — Nate Dey, North St. Paul
2002 — Gino Guyer, Greenway
2001 — Marty Sertich, Roseville
2000 — Paul Martin, Elk River
1999 — Jeff Taffe, Hastings
1998 — Johnny Pohl, Red Wing
1997 — Aaron Miskovich, Grand Rapids
1996 — Dave Spehar, Duluth East
1995 — Erik Rasmussen, St. Louis Park
1994 — Mike Crowley, Bloomington Jefferson
1993 — Nick Checco, Bloomington Jefferson
1992 — Brian Bonin, White Bear Lake
1991 — Darby Hendrickson, Richfield
1990 — Joe Dziedzic, Minneapolis Edison
1989 — Trent Klatt, Osseo
1988 — Larry Olimb, Warroad
1987 — Kris Miller, Greenway
1986 — George Pelawa, Bemidji
1985 — Tom Chorske, Minneapolis Southwest

Schlossman has covered college hockey for the Grand Forks Herald since 2005. He has been recognized by the Associated Press Sports Editors as the top beat writer for the Herald's circulation division four times and the North Dakota sportswriter of the year once. He resides in Grand Forks. Reach him at bschlossman@gfherald.com.
What to read next
The Mr. Hockey finalist and 6-foot-2 captain for the Raiders posted 63 points this season as a senior.
John King is back for another fun-filled video following the Minnesota boys state hockey tournaments.
Multiple skaters who are either from Minnesota or North Dakota, or currently play in those respective states, are headed to the National Team Development Program's annual tryout camp.
Slukynsky, a senior captain, earned a .941 save percentage this season with a 1.47 goals against average. He helped backstop Warroad to two runner-up finishes in Class A.
Get Local