We see that you have javascript disabled. Please enable javascript and refresh the page to continue reading local news. If you feel you have received this message in error, please contact the customer support team at 1-833-248-7801.



Team USA rosters released for Women's Worlds, Collegiate Series, and U-18 Selects

Multiple players from the state of Minnesota will represent Team USA at various levels.

Team USA
Team USA celebrates Grace Dwyer's game-winning-goal in the IIHF 2022 U18 Women's World Championship semifinal match against Sweden.
Sydney Wolf / The Rink Live

BUFFALO, N.Y. — The rosters for the IIHF Women's World Championships, the Collegiate Series, and the U-18 Selects have been announced by USA Hockey.

The 2022 IIHF Women's World Championships will take place in Herning and Frederikshavn, Denmark from Aug. 25-Sept. 4.

Team USA includes 18 players who took part in the 2022 Beijing Olympics (shown with an asterisk in the list below). Lacey Eden and Aerin Frankel both were a part of the 2021 Women's National Team, while Hannah Bilka, Taylor Heise and Rory Guilday are the three newcomers to Team USA.

Minnesotans on the roster include Maddie Rooney (Andover), Rory Guilday (Minnetonka), Lee Stecklein (Roseville), Hannah Brandt (Vadnais Heights), Taylor Heise (Lake City), Kelly Pannek (Plymouth) and Grace Zumwinkle (Excelsior).

Read More from The Rink Live:


Collegiate Series

The 2022 Collegiate Selects series will take place in Calgary, Alberta, from Aug. 17-20. The players will participate in a three-game series against the Canadians.

The four Minnesotans on the U.S. roster are Madeline Wethington (Edina), Jamie Nelson (Andover), Kelsey King (Elk River) and Paetyn Levis (Rogers). Other players with ties to the area include Golden Gopher Abbey Murphy and Minnesota State defenders Charlotte Akervik and Anna Wilgren.

U-18 Selects

The U-18 Select team will also travel to Calgary later this month to compete against Canada. The squad will also compete in the U-18 Women's World Championships in Sweden next January.

Eight Minnesotans will play for Team USA including returners Josie St. Martin (Stillwater) and Ava Lindsay (Minnetonka), as well as newcomers Layla Hemp (Minnetonka), Dani Strom (Dayton), Elly Klepinger (Corcoran), Cailin Mumm (Andover), Lindzi Avar (Chanhassen) and Grace Sadura (Chanhassen).

Other players with ties to the area include Shattuck-St. Mary's products Gabby Kim, Alexandra Lalonde and Maggie Scannell.

The full rosters for each team can be found below.

Related Topics: WOMEN'S HOCKEY
Sydney Wolf is a reporter for The Rink Live, primarily covering youth hockey. She joined the team in November of 2021 and graduated from St. Cloud State University with a B.S. in Mass Communications and a minor in Writing and Rhetoric Studies and was a part of the University Honors Program.
What to read next
Addison Finn announced her verbal commitment to the Terriers as a defender, but spent the past year at Stillwater playing as a forward.
The 16-year-old goaltender backstopped Maple Grove to a state tournament appearance in 2021-22 while posting a .939 save percentage over 28 games.
After a massive sophomore campaign, scoring 70 points in 29 games, Northfield's leading scorer Ayla Puppe has verbally committed to Minnesota.
After posting a .908 save percentage in 17 games for the Pioneers as a sophomore, Zhan announced her verbal commitment to play Division I hockey at Dartmouth College.