Sponsored By
An organization or individual has paid for the creation of this work but did not approve or review it.



Warroad's Jayson Shaugabay wins 2023 Minnesota Mr. Hockey award

Shaugabay, a senior captain, posted 96 points this season for the Warriors and has over 300 throughout his four years on varsity.

St. Cloud Cathedral vs Warroad_0820.jpg
Warroad forward Jayson Shaugabay (17) celebrates his goal against St. Cloud Cathedral in the third period Wednesday, March 8, 2023, at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul.
Jason Wachter / The Rink Live

ST. PAUL — Jayson Shaugabay of Warroad has won the 2023 Minnesota Mr. Hockey award, which is given out annually to the top senior hockey player in the state.

Shaugabay, a senior forward and two-time captain for the Warriors, posted 96 points this season and has over 300 throughout his four years on varsity. He is committed to play at the Division I level for Minnesota Duluth.

030422 S GFH MNS8ABHKY-5.jpg
Warroad's Jayson Shaugabay (17) celebrates his goal in the third period of the Minnesota Section 8A boys hockey championship game against Thief River Falls at the East Grand Forks Civic Center on Thursday, March 3, 2022.
Nick Nelson / Grand Forks Herald

Shaugabay has appeared in games for the Green Bay Gamblers of the USHL both this season and last season and he also competed for Team USA in the U17 Five Nations tournament in 2021. He was ranked No. 64 on the NHL Central Scouting list for North American skaters.

Over his four years with Warroad, the squad recently finished in second place in Class A in both 2023 and 2022, and the Warriors also made a state tournament appearance in 2020. Shaugabay posted eight points in the 2022-23 state tournament, which included two goals and six assists. Those eight points put him tied for the lead in Class A scoring at the tournament, tied with his teammate - and nephew - Carson Pilgrim.

Below is a list of the most recent winners of the award.


  • 2022: Max Strand, F, Roseau (Vermont)
  • 2021: Jack Peart, D, Grand Rapids (St. Cloud State)
  • 2020: Blake Biondi, F, Hermantown (Minnesota Duluth)
  • 2019: Bryce Brodzinski, F, Blaine (Minnesota)
  • 2018: Sammy Walker, F, Edina (Minnesota)

Sydney Wolf is a reporter for The Rink Live, primarily covering youth and high school hockey. She joined the team in November of 2021 and graduated from St. Cloud State University with a degree in Mass Communications and a minor in Writing and Rhetoric Studies.
What to read next
John King is back for another fun-filled video following the Minnesota boys state hockey tournaments.
Multiple skaters who are either from Minnesota or North Dakota, or currently play in those respective states, are headed to the National Team Development Program's annual tryout camp.
Slukynsky, a senior captain, earned a .941 save percentage this season with a 1.47 goals against average. He helped backstop Warroad to two runner-up finishes in Class A.
The championship match was a close one, but the Skippers came out on top 2-1. The game-winning goal was scored by sophomore Ashton Schultz.
Get Local