High school hockey players sign their National Letters of Intent

Dozens of hockey players across the Midwest will sign their National Letters of Intent on Wednesday to play at the collegiate level.

Andover vs Minnetonka_0589.jpg
Andover's Ella Boerger (15) is persistent and finally gets the puck past Minnetonka goalie Sophia Johnson (30) during the second period Saturday, Feb. 26, 2022, at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul.
Jason Wachter / The Rink Live

Dozens of players from across the country will sign their National Letters of Intent to play college hockey on Wednesday, Nov. 9.

An NLI is an agreement between an athlete and a collegiate sports program that binds them together. Players aren't required to sign an NLI, but high school seniors who are already verbally committed to a university typically sign the agreement on signing day. Once signed, athletes can no longer be recruited by other programs.

The photos below show some of the regional athletes who have signed their NLI's on Wednesday. These photos will be updated as The Rink Live learns more.

Luverne's Kamryn Van Batavia, Minnesota State University.

Grand Forks native Will Howard of the New Mexico Ice Wolves, Augustana University.


Prior Lake girls hockey players Ava Guillemette (Minnesota State) and Courtney Rook (Aurora University - Division III).

Waterloo Black Hawks (USHL) teammates James Hong and Aaron Pionk (Hermantown), Minnesota State University.

Hallock native Hayden Hennen , Augustana University.

Abby Garvin of Benilde-St. Margaret's, University of St. Thomas.

Warroad girls hockey players Talya Hendrickson (Bemidji State), Rylee Bartz (St. Thomas), Kate Johnson (Bemidji State), Alexis Kirkeby (Assumption) and Cahlilah Lindquist (Wisconsin-River Falls, Division III).

Hill-Murray captain Ellah Hause, University of St. Thomas.

Minnesota Wilderness (NAHL) forward and Andover native, Gunnar Thoreson (St. Lawrence).

Members of the Madison Capitols (USHL), which includes Quinn Finley (Wisconsin) who grew up playing for the Green Bay Jr. Gamblers and participated in the Minnesota Bantam Elite League.


Former Moorhead Spud, Gavin Lindberg, Colorado College.

Wisconsin native Brendan Poshak, Northern Michigan University.

Raegan Wurm of Buffalo signs her NLI to Maine.

Members of the Fargo Force (USHL), which includes former Hill-Murray captain Leo Gruba (St. Cloud State), former Shattuck-St. Mary's skater Ty Henricks (Western Michigan), and Brainerd native Anthony Menghini (Minnesota Duluth).

Members of the Sioux Falls Stampede (USHL), which includes former St. Cloud defenseman Max Rud (Minnesota), Stillwater native Evan Murr (Minnesota State), and former East Grand Forks standout Jaksen Panzer (North Dakota).

Andover's Cayden Casey (St. Lawrence) and Gavyn Thoreson (St. Cloud State).

Members of the Youngstown Phantoms (USHL), which includes Will Whitelaw of Rosemount (Wisconsin), Nick Williams of Edina (Michigan Tech), Hunter Bischoff of Grand Rapids (Augustana), and North Dakota commit Andrew Strathmann .

Former Andover standout Garrett Schifsky, Michigan.


Centennial/Spring Lake Park's Lauren O'Hara, Minnesota.

Members of the Lincoln Stars (USHL), which includes Lakeville South's Tanner Ludtke (Nebraska-Omaha).

Members of the Gentry Academy girls hockey team, which includes Campbell Heger (Sacred Heart), Riley Reeves (Bemidji State) , Jenessa and JuliAnna Gazdik (Minnesota State), Cara Sajevic (St. Thomas), and Alexa Hanrahan (St. Cloud State).

Olivia Dronen of Moorhead, Bemidji State.

Members of the Muskegon Lumberjacks (USHL) which includes former Shattuck-St. Mary's forward Luke Buss (Quinnipiac), Cody Croal of North Branch / Northstar Christian Academy (North Dakota), and Jack Reimann of Blaine (St. Cloud State).

Various players of the Omaha Lancers (USHL).

Stella Retrum of Maple Grove, Penn State University.

Chase Cheslock of Rogers, University of St. Thomas.

Laine DeVries of Chisago Lakes, University of St. Thomas.

Minnetonka's Elly Klepinger (Minnesota), Grace Sadura (Minnesota Duluth), Josie Hemp (Minnesota), and Ava Lindsay (Minnesota).

McKenna Sandberg and Ava Johansson of Rogers, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire (Division III).

Andover's Ella Boerger and Madison Brown (St. Thomas), Isabelle Goettl (Minnesota), and Courtney Stagman (Saint Anselm).

St. Cloud State is officially ranked in the national polls this week, the first time since 2009. Minnesota State still lurks outside of the top-15 and receives votes.

Related Topics: COLLEGE HOCKEY
Sydney Wolf is a reporter for The Rink Live, primarily covering youth hockey. She joined the team in November of 2021 and graduated from St. Cloud State University with a B.S. in Mass Communications and a minor in Writing and Rhetoric Studies and was a part of the University Honors Program.
What to read next