ST. CLOUD, Minn. — A defenseman from the St. Cloud metro area has been named captain, two other Minnesotans and an Illinoisan have been named as alternates for the St. Cloud State men's hockey team.

Spencer Meier, a junior from Sartell, Minn., is the first Huskies captain from the St. Cloud metro area since Ethan Prow in 2015-16. Senior defensemen Luke Jaycox (Warroad) and Seamus Donohue (North Oaks) are the alternate captains from Minnesota and senior forward Kevin Fitzgerald is from Hinsdale, Ill.

Meier has been a regular in the lineup each of the past two seasons. In 72 career games, he has five goals, 15 assists, 40 penalty minutes and is even in plus/minus. Before getting to St. Cloud State, Meier helped the Fargo Force win the United States Hockey League's Clark Cup as its playoff champion and played high school hockey at Sartell. He is a two-time Academic All-NCHC award winner.

Donohue, a St. Thomas Academy graduate, is a graduate transfer to St. Cloud State. The last three seasons, he has played defense at Michigan Tech where he had 48 assists and 55 points, 142 penalty minutes, 173 blocked shots and was a plus-6 in 117 games. He is working on a graduate degree in sports management after being a two-time WCHA Scholar-Athlete at Michigan Tech.

Jaycox has seven goals, six assists, 101 blocked shots, 24 penalty minutes and is a plus-9 in 112 games at St. Cloud State. He played for the Lincoln Stars in the USHL and Warroad High School before joining the Huskies.

Newsletter signup for email alerts

Fitzgerald, a three-time Academic All-NCHC award recipient, has 20 goals, 29 assists, 53 penalty minutes, is a plus-16 and has won 54 percent of his 842 career faceoffs in 95 games. An accounting major, Fitzgerald finished his junior hockey career by helping the Aberdeen Wings win the North American Hockey League's Central Division to qualify for the Robertson Cup playoffs.

The St. Cloud State men's hockey team will have a practice that is open to the public from 9:30-11 a.m. Friday, Oct. 30, at the Herb Brooks National Hockey Center. The event is free and open to the first 250 spectators. Anyone in attendance will need to wear a face mask, show a COVID self-assessment green screen when entering the building and fans are asked to observe proper physical distance guidelines in the arena.

Huskies who have worn the 'C' in Division I era

2020-21 — Spencer Meier, Sartell, Minn.

2019-20 — Jack Ahcan, Savage, Minn.

2018-19 — Jimmy Schuldt, Minnetonka, Minn.

2017-18 — Jimmy Schuldt, Minnetonka, Minn.; Judd Peterson, Duluth, Minn.

2016-17 — Jimmy Schuldt, Minnetonka, Minn.; Ben Storm, Laurium, Mich.

2015-16 — Ethan Prow, Sauk Rapids, Minn.

2014-15 — Nick Oliver, Roseau, Minn.

2013-14 — Nic Dowd, Huntsville, Ala.

2012-13 — Drew LeBlanc, Hermantown, Minn.; Ben Hanowski, Little Falls, Minn.

2011-12 — Drew LeBlanc, Hermantown, Minn.; Ben Hanowski, Little Falls, Minn., Mike Lee, Roseau, Minn.

2010-11 — Aaron Marvin, Warroad, Minn.

2009-10 — Garrett Raboin, Detroit Lakes, Minn.; Aaron Marvin, Warroad, Minn.

2008-09 — Garrett Raboin, Detroit Lakes, Minn.

2007-08 — Matt Stephenson, Midland, Ontario

2006-07 — Casey Borer, Minneapolis, Minn.

2005-06 — Casey Borer, Minneapolis, Minn.

2004-05 — Matt Gens, Baudette, Minn.; Dave Iannazzo, Maple Grove, Minn.

2003-04 — Matt Hendricks, Blaine, Minn.; Ryan LaMere, Bloomington, Minn.

2002-03 — Jon Cullen, Alexandria, Minn.

2001-02 — Jon Cullen, Alexandria, Minn.

2000-01 — Brandon Sampair, Mahtomedi, Minn.

1999-2000 — Geno Parrish, Bloomington, Minn.

1998-1999 — Kyle McLaughlin, Nepean, Ontario

1997-98 — Andy Vicari, St. Cloud, Minn.

1996-97 — Mike O'Connell, Apple Valley, Minn.

1995-96 — Kelly Rieder, St. Cloud, Minn.

1994-95 — Kelly Hultgren, St. Paul, Minn.

1993-94 — Tony Gruba, St. Paul, Minn.

1992-93 — Dan O'Shea, St. Cloud, Minn.

1991-92 — Doc DelCastillo, St. Paul, Minn.; Tim Hanus, Excelsior, Minn.

1990-91 — Brian Cook, Waterloo, Iowa; Tim Hanus, Excelsior, Minn.; Chris Scheid, Austin, Minn.

1989-90 — Vic Brodt, Roseville, Minn.

1988-89 — Vic Brodt, Roseville, Minn.

1987-88 — Brian Cook, Waterloo, Iowa

For more hockey news: The Rink Live is your top-shelf destination for regional hockey coverage. Situated in the country's premiere hockey footprint, skate on over for exclusive content and the latest in college, USHL and high school hockey. Subscribers to Forum Communications' network of newspapers also enjoy access to The Rink Live as part of their membership.

This season, sign up for The Rink Live newsletter to get the best hockey stories from across the region delivered to your inbox!