Chalk up another honor for Jordan Kawaguchi.

The UND junior forward was named the National Collegiate Hockey Conference forward of the year this week, making him the first Fighting Hawks player to win the award in the seven-year history of the league.

Kawaguchi, one of 10 finalists for the Hobey Baker Award, led all NCHC forwards with 45 points in all games and 30 points in league games.

Kawaguchi figured to be a runaway winner for the award. Other finalists included Minnesota Duluth's Noah Cates, Denver's Emilio Pettersen, Miami's Gordie Green, Omaha's Taylor Ward and St. Cloud State's Sam Hentges.

Kawaguchi previously earned first-team all-NCHC honors and was named USCHO's national player of the year.

The Hobey Baker Award is expected to be narrowed down to three finalists April 2. The winner will be announced April 10.

Kawaguchi is hoping to become UND's third winner of the Hobey. The others have been Tony Hrkac in 1987 and Ryan Duncan in 2007.

NCHC forward of the year winners

2019-20 -- Jordan Kawaguchi, North Dakota

2018-19 -- Patrick Newell, St. Cloud State

2017-18 -- Henrik Borgstrom, Denver

2016-17 -- Anthony Louis, Miami

2015-16 -- Danton Heinen, Denver

2014-15 -- Trevor Moore, Denver

2013-14 -- Josh Archibald, Omaha