For the fourth time in seven years of the National Collegiate Hockey Conference, a UND player has scored the league's goal of the year.

Jordan Kawaguchi's between-the-legs goal against Alabama Huntsville was named the NCHC play of the year this week, beating out a save by Minnesota Duluth's Hunter Shepard, which was quickly followed by a Bulldog goal by Tanner Laderoute. The winner is determined by fan voting.

Kawaguchi's goal came during the second period of a Jan. 4 game against the Chargers in Ralph Engelstad Arena.

With the game tied 2-2, a Grant Mismash shot trickled just wide of the goal and below the goal line. Kawaguchi pulled the puck between his own legs and shot it just underneath the crossbar for a highlight-reel play.

It was his 10th goal of the season and stood as the game-winner.

Kawaguchi is the third UND player to win NCHC play of the year, joining Drake Caggiula in 2013-14, Nick Schmaltz in 2015-16 and Tyson Jost in 2016-17.

Jost won it for a terrific individual effort against Omaha.

Schmaltz won it for finishing off the tic-tac-toe play against Miami where six players touched the puck in four seconds.

Caggiula won it for dangling around St. Cloud State's Kevin Gravel and sniping the corner of the net from in tight.

List of NCHC play of the year winners

2013-14 -- Drake Caggiula, North Dakota

2014-15 -- Justin Kovacs, Western Michigan

2015-16 -- Nick Schmaltz, North Dakota

2016-17 -- Tyson Jost, North Dakota

2017-18 -- Ryan Poehling, St. Cloud State

2018-19 -- Sam Hentges, St. Cloud State

2019-20 -- Jordan Kawaguchi, North Dakota