42 players from Minnesota, 3 from North Dakota invited to USA Women’s National Festival

By Mick Hatten

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. — USA Hockey has invited 107 players to the Women’s USA Hockey National Festival that will be held Aug. 5-13 at the Olympic Center in Lake Placid, N.Y.

There are 42 Minnesotans and three North Dakotans who have been invited to the festival. This is a training camp for the top-level players on the senior team, but USA Hockey will also choose its Under-18 and Under-22 Select teams that will compete in the annual U18 and U22 series against Canada.

Those series will be best-of-three series that will take place on Aug. 14-17 in Lake Placid.

After losing her stick Brainerd forward Gabbie Smith (10) tries to disrupt Edina defender Vivian Jungels (22) pass in the second period of the Minnesota State Girls Hockey Tournament Class AA Championship game at Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul, Minn, on Saturday, Feb. 23, 2019. John Autey / The Rink Live

U18 players 

There are 31 U18 players who will be at the camp, including 13 from Minnesota. The 13 Minnesotans:

Danielle Burgen, Forward, Chisago Lakes High School

Brenna Fuhrman, D, Farmington High School

Rachel Golnitz, D, Forest Lake High School

Rory Guilday, D, Minnetonka High School

Peyton Hemp, F, Andover High School

Vivian Jungels, D, Edina High School

Gabby Krause, F, Andover High School

Sydney Langseth, F, Eden Prairie High School

Sadie Lindsay, F, Breck School

Jamie Nelson, F, Andover High School

Maggie Nicholson, D, Minnetonka High School

Skylar Vetter, G, Lakeville North High School

Audrey Wethington, F, The Blake School

Andover’s Gabby Krause, left, celebrates her goal — Andover’s third goal in the first period — as Farmington’s Samantha Moehle (10) and Madison Kadrlik (22), talk during a Class 2A quarterfinal game of the State Girls’ Hockey Tournament at Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul on Thursday, Feb. 21, 2019. Jean Pieri / Pioneer Press

North Dakotans

The three North Dakotans who will be taking part in the festival are Britta Curl (Bismarck), Jocelyn Lamoureux-Davidson (Grand Forks) and Monique Lamoureux-Morando (Grand Forks).

Curl is a 19-year-old forward who will be a sophomore for the University of Wisconsin in the fall.

Lamoureux-Davidson is listed as a forward. Lamoureux-Morando is listed a defenseman. The 30-year-old twins have played on three Olympic teams and played in college for the University of Minnesota and the University of North Dakota.

Monique Lamoureux-Morando, left, and Jocelyne Lamoureux-Davidson, right, are photographed with sisters Sadie, second from left, and Katelyn Aamodt at a meet and greet following their talk at the Chester Fritz Auditorium Monday evening. Eric Hylden / The Rink Live

24 collegians

There are 24 other collegians who will be taking part in the festival who are from Minnesota. They are listed here by their college teams last season with their hometowns in parenthesis:

Bemidji State — Makayla Langei (D, East Grand Forks).

Connecticut — Natalie Snodgrass (F, Eagan).

Minnesota — Emily Brown (D, Blaine), Taylor Heise (F, Lake City), Patti Marshall (D, Buffalo), Emily Oden (F, Edina), Gracie Ostertag (D, Shakopee), Kelly Pannek (F, Plymouth), Nicole Schammel (F, Red Wing), Taylor Wente (F, Plymouth), Madeline Wethington (D, Edina), Grace Zumwinkle (F, Excelsior).

Minnesota-Duluth — Sydney Brodt (F, North Oaks), Maggie Flaherty (D, Lakeville), Gabrielle Hughes (F, Lino Lakes), Anneke Linser (F, Lino Lakes), Lizi Norton (D, Orono), Maddie Rooney (G, Andover).

Penn State — Natalie Heising (F, Maple Grove).

Princeton — Carly Bullock (F, Eden Prairie).

St. Cloud State — Emma Polusny (G, Mound).

Wisconsin — Grace Bowlby (D, Edina), Presley Norby (F, Minnetonka), Sophia Shaver (F, Wayzata).

University of Minnesota forward Nicole Schammel (25) was a top-10 finalist for the Patty Katzmaier Award, which goes annually to the top women’s hockey player in the country. Schammel, who is from Red Wing, has been invited to the Women’s USA Hockey National Festival.
Minnesota Duluth goaltender Maddie Rooney blocks a shot during the second period of Friday’s game against Wisconsin at Amsoil Arena. Steve Kuchera / The Rink Live

Minnesota pros

Five other Minnesota players who played pro hockey last season have also been invited to the camp.

The pro players are Hannah Brandt (F, Vadnais Heights), Dani Cameranesi (F, Plymouth), Gigi Marvin (F, Warroad), Sidney Morin (D, Minnetonka) and Lee Stecklein (D, Roseville).

Brandt, 25, played last season for the Minnesota Whitecaps in the National Women’s Hockey League and is a former Gopher.

Cameranesi, 24, played last season for the Buffalo Beauts in the NWHL and is a former Gopher.

Marvin, 32, played last season for the Boston Pride in the NWHL and is a former Gopher.

Morin, 24, played last season for Linkoping HC in Sweden and is a former Bulldog.

Stecklein, 25, played last season for the Minnesota Whitecaps and is a former Gopher.

Mick Hatten can be reached at mhatten@forumcomm.com. Follow @MickHatten on Twitter, Instagram.
Dani Cameranesi (left) of the U.S. and Nelli Laitinen of Finland in action at the 2019 Women’s IIHF World Championship gold medal game between Finland and the United States. Lehtikuva/Mikko Stig via REUTERS
Blayre Turnbull of Cananda and Lee Stecklein of USA playing against one another on April 6, 2019, in the 2019 Women’s IIHF World Championships in Espoo, Finland. Lehtikuva/Antti Aimo-Koivsto via REUTERS
[dfp_banner dfp_bin="dfp-630x90-300x50-pos1"]
[dfp_banner dfp_bin="dfp-630x90-300x50-pos2"]